Some days…

Being a new mom is hard.

Today was a particularly easy day, but I found myself exhausted. Juniper took a couple small naps and then finally around 2:30 went down for a long nap.

I should have folded laundry, did the dishes, made the bed, cleaned the floors… anything. Instead, I brought the monitor downstairs with me and curled up in a ball and binged watched a couple episodes of Season 2 The Following. I did nothing.

I am totally allowed to do that. Sometimes, I don’t think I am. I am a stay at home mom and my partner works hard all day everyday running his own construction business. So not only is he working, he’s hard on his body. He never complains when I do nothing. I am so lucky.

He doesn’t put the pressure on me to do things around the house, but I do. I do take care of him… I make him lunch everyday and I try to cook dinner when I can, which is 80% of the time. So when I don’t make him a lunch or cook dinner, I always wonder if he thinks I am lazy. He’d never say it if he actually did.

Today, I took a break. I may not be picking up dog poop or cleaning up the weeds in the front yard, but my boobs hurt and I am exhausted. And this is coming from a mom who has an easy baby.

Some days are harder than others and today is one of those days.

I will not make excuses for taking a break or for wanting to be alone for two hours.Tomorrow will be better! I’ll be productive! Maybe. 😉

What do you do when you have time to yourself?

Thanks for stopping by!

XO Christina

Categories Pregnant

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close